Expectation; A Personal Demon

I’m not sure about everyone else out there, but I have certain expectations of myself. I expect that no matter what, with training there should be progress. If I run often I should be able to run faster and farther, right? And when that doesn’t happen, I/we get down on ourselves and turn to the comfort items in our lives that might console us. Yesterday, I came to terms with the fact that it is not always how it is, nor how it should be.

During a not so brief 6 mile run, the anxiety crept in and I started getting down on myself. My pace was way off. I had taken a wrong turn. The place I wanted to get to was now out of reach for the distance I wanted to travel.

You see, right down the street from where I live is where my Mom and Dad were married many moons ago; Scargo Tower. It holds a special place in my heart, and I always mean to run over there, but never do. Alas, again, I missed my chance. You see, I was so focused on adding in some mileage, I took a wrong turn in a neighborhood I am unfamiliar with. It put me way off course.

Because I had to run with more intention on my route then on my actual run, the pace suffered. Not that I’m fast, but on a  normal run I know the route and can concentrate less on where I am going or how I am getting there; it’s completely prearranged. I’d love to live more “seat of my pants” but I need structure. I’m still new to this whole running thing anyway.

I’m an obsessive kind of guy, so having goals to work toward keeps me going. Whether it’s training for a 5k, 10k, OCR or an ultra; the expectation to excel is always there.  When I’ve tasted even the most minor amount of success, it seems to derail everything. For instance, A couple weeks before my 50k I was feeling great and pushed a bit harder. It ended up causing me some knee pain and killed my training for a few days. At the 50k, that knee pain came back.

I’m wondering if maybe a running coach might help. I’m never going to take 1st place at a race, but to have someone help me use this body more efficiently would be of great value.

Do you have a running coach or trainer? What do you think of using one?

One thought on “Expectation; A Personal Demon

  1. I think it depends on how serious you are. It might be worth it for a limited amount of time just to learn how to train in the most beneficial way. It also depends on how well you follow directions. If you think you know better than the coach, there is no point in paying someone to write you workouts and then changing them yourself because you think you know better. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

