WTF…Progress?!

I’ve been dealing with a bit of a running issue lately, and frankly, it has me scared a little for my upcoming 50k. It will be my first and I’ve really been looking forward to it. There are a few people out there that think I bit off more than I can chew, and at time; I believe them. But, the fact that my sheer stupidity got me to sign up in the first place, I will be giving it my all. I know I can do it. I may be last, but I will finish.

june12

My short runs, 3-6 milers, are getting slower and slower. My discouragement is getting larger and larger, while my endurance seems to get smaller and smaller. I know from research that ultras are not about speed, so it’s not like I am pushing hard.

I am noticing on my splits that I come out faster in the first mile than my last mile, and that’s the same on my short runs and on my long runs. So, I’ve tried slowing down a little bit at the beginning. No matter what I am doing,

july16

I realize the images here are just my “5k” distances, but they are the easiest to compare as I have a set route(s) for this distance. To eb honest, most of my issues came after a 15+ mile run I had. Since then I can’t seem to keep it together.

As you can see, just 2 short months ago my 3 mile time was nearly 3 minutes faster, I don’t know what I’m doing wrong. My nutrition is on point. It’s hot out, but I’m staying hydrated. I don’t get it.

august2

Ok, I’m not running every day. I am running at least 3-4 days a week. I am not using RunKeeper on every run. But I am hitting the miles I need to hit. I’m hitting them gym as often as possible.  I’m resting. I don’t get it….

At this point, I’m questioning my choice to run this race.

2 thoughts on “WTF…Progress?!

  1. I wouldn’t worry if you’re training for a 50K. From what I’ve read, you will be doing the 50K at a very slow pace, so your body should be adjusting to that, not to getting faster. What is the point in having a great 100m sprint in a 50K? 🙂

    • I hear ya, and it’s kind of why I wasn’t super worried. But to lose 3 minutes seemed odd. Either way, I am still doing it whether I have to slog the whole race or not, lol! 🙂

Leave a Reply

