Recipe: Down & Dirty Beans w/ Rice

downdirtybeansThe name of the recipe cannot be any truer, this is bare bones and downright filthy. What does that even mean? Well, I guess, there’s no finesse; it’s bold. The ingredients list is short and it doesn’t take a ton of attention.

Ingredients: (prepare all as you would normally)

1 cup rice
2 cups of kidney beans, prepared before hand (or a 15oz can)
1 cup of chopped kale
1 cup of salsa
1 tbsp chili seasoning
1 tsp chipotle powder

Mix it all together and throw in the oven, which was preheated at 350 (right?). Cook for about 40 minutes so all the flavors mix up.

I can tell you I was blown away by this recipe and how awesome it tasted. But, I won’t. It was tasty, hit the spot and filled our bellies. I think it lacked a bit, maybe it needed some jalapenos or some corn. Either way, this recipe is a solid base for you to mess with flavors. I know I loaded quite a bit of Frank’s on mine. I even melted a bit of Daiya cheddar on top. Which, in the end, tasted phenomenal. Yeah, so it was good after all, whatever!

2 thoughts on “Recipe: Down & Dirty Beans w/ Rice

  1. Beans and rice is probably my favorite comfort food. It’s so simple, cheap and always tastes good. It’s really hard to get it wrong, which works for me because I’m apt to forget what I am cooking and burn things. Thanks for the recipe!

Leave a Reply

