Recipe: Twice Baked Potatoes w/ Asparagus

Apologies in advance, this was such a hit I was not able to take a picture in time before my family annihilated this meal. My son had a friend over, and sometimes that can not go over well when they are faced with a dinner that’s not normal to them. His friend though devoured it and went back for seconds. Anyway… Here’s what I got.

6-8 Russet Potatoes
1 1/2 cups of Broccoli crowns
5 strips Smoky Maple Bacon Marinated Tempeh
1/2 cup Go Veggie! Mexican shreds
1 tsp Earth Balance Coconut spread
1/2 cup Silk Cashew Milk
30-35 spears of fresh Asparagus

I cooked the potatoes for about 60 minutes on 350 degrees. At the same time, during the last 5 minutes, I steamed the broccoli. I also pan cooked the tempeh (in the coconut spread), which I had diced beforehand so that way it resembled “bacon bits” when done.

After taking the potatoes out and letting them cool a bit, I cut them length wise and carved out the center.

All the extra potato went into a bowl with the broccoli (which I chopped up). Once they were all carved out, I added the cashew milk to the bowl, the tempeh was added as was the mexican shreds.

I spooned the filling back into the potato skins, sprinkled with a little bit more of the shreds, and put them back in the oven for another 15 minutes. While they cooked, I prepped the asparagus and when the final 5 minutes was ticking down on the potatoes, I steamed the asparagus.

I plated it all and it was gone in a few minutes. This meal went much better than I hoped and it’s now been added to out repertoire.

Leave a Reply

