Tofurky Beer Brats and Spinach Pesto Sausage

SpinachPestoBlackSleeve-300It’s been a while since I’ve had Tofurky, but I remember I’ve always enjoyed it. I’ve been interested in going back to purchasing vegan options for meat replacement products, and Tofurky has always been at the top of the list as far as pushing their product further.

As I’ve made the transition to a plant based diet, and my family has tried to as well, it’s been tough on my youngest son. For whatever reason, he still feels like he needs to have a “meat” like item on his plate, especially at dinner. We started using quinoa for tacos, but he didn’t like that. We tried Morningstar crumbles instead and he was sold. Hmm, we thought, how bout Tofurky? We had liked it before and now they had a lot of the flavor profiles we had been eating in the past.

brats1I had the opportunity to try the Spinach Pesto Sausage and the Beer Brats. I sliced up the sausage and pan fried it like I normally would and served it with rice and a veggie. Both my boys and I agree, this sausage was fantastic. Not only did it have the texture and “snap” of a sausage, it also had the flavor profile. Best part about it? My little guy agreed it was great and he annihilated what I had served to him. Kid-friendly? Heck yes! Bonus points to the fact it was not meat!

I made the Beer Brats as close to how I would have made brats years ago. My boys requested orange peppers, so I sliced some up, tossed them and some onions in a pan and cooked them down a bit. Before they were completely mushy, I added the brats on top, covered the pan and let it cook up for a bit.

After they steamed up a bit, I pulled em out & sliced em up. I then added them back to the pan and turned the heat up a bit to get some nice color. All the while I had cooked up some plain white quinoa.

brats2This was another hit. My older son and I agreed that when we are out at cook outs this summer, these brats will certainly be coming with us. And my little guy? Yeah he ate every bite again. I’ve been up front with him and let him know it’s faux meat. He was apprehensive at first, so honestly, I was non-descript with him when we  made the initial transition. Now that he knows these products taste good, I have been able to get him to open up to new things.

Thank you Tofurky not only for great products that are healthy and ethically viable, but for making it easier on families to make the transition to a lifestyle many of us are proud of living.

Website: http://www.tofurky.com/

Leave a Reply

