Bodyweight Core WOD 4/1/15

April is the month I need to start ramping up my training regimen for the 50k I am running this August. It’s my first and I am deadset on completing it! I’ve done countless hours of research and have read tons of stories of how runners train for something like this, and it’s much more than just putting in miles.

Today’s WOD is going to be cut and dry with a minor focus on core work. My research says just how important a solid core is for running ultra distances. It’s believed that a strong core offers better stability, especially when running longer distances, that makes absolute sense. Without a solid trunk, posture suffers and the body tries to adapt to that which could seriously harm a runner forms.

That said, let’s get to it. Of course, being an obstacle racer, this WOD does included burpees as they not only work the core, but they are a full body exercise. They are great for getting the body warmed up, so that’s where we start.

The first set is a warm-up set, so don’t go crazy out of the gate, save that for the middle set where you should be giving it a bit more “umph”!

1st set

10 burpees
10 hip raises
10 dive bomber push-ups
10 bicycles

In between sets, hold a plank position for 60 seconds.

2nd & 3rd set

Do 15 reps of each exercise, again with a plank in between each.

This WOD is not super duper difficult, and you won’t need any equipment AT ALL. I created a link to each that will show you a variety of ways to do each exercise (via  Google search).

I hope you find this helpful and if so, let me know and I will be glad to share more. One thing you won’t see here are huge weightlifting WOD’s. I will sprinkle weighted exercises in, but it’s not a huge part of my training as I’m not looking to build muscle, but I am looking to strengthen the muscle I have. Well, I guess I should add some more, I’m a whole 140 lbs. soaked. Either way, you get the idea and I hope this is useful.

Leave a Reply

