Recipe: Vegan Chili

chili2I recently won a contest and received a 3-in-1 Fagor Pressure Cooker. I also received an awesome book, Vegan Pressure Cooking by JL Fields. This recipe though did not come from the book, I have others I plan to make and will gladly share when that times comes.

I decided to whip up my own chili recipe though and break in the machine for the first time. Here’s the ingredient list:

1 cup Morningstar crumbles
2-3 cups of diced potatoes (no preference here, use what you like)
1 cup dried kidney beans
1 cup dried black beans
1 cup dried small red beans
2 tablespoons vegetable oil
1/2 cup frozen chopped onions
3 cloves garlic (crushed and chopped)
1 1/2 cups of frozen bell pepper mix (red, orange, yellow and green)
1 cup of chopped carrots
28 oz can diced tomatoes
1 1/2 tablespoons chili powder
1/2 tablespoon chipotle powder
1 tablespoon dried oregano
1 tablespoon dried basil
1 teaspoon salt
2 cups vegetable broth
2 cups water

chili1Step one:
The night before you plan on making this, make sure you soak the beans. I used two cups of water for every dried cup of beans. So, since I had 3 cups I used 6 cups of water.

Step two:
Add oil to a pan and get hot enough to saute the onions. As the onions start to caramelize just a bit add the peppers. They will start to break down and water will collect in the pan. Add the chili powder and chipotle powder. Saute that for a few minutes.

While that’s going, drain the beans and dump them and everything else into the slow cooker. Take off the sauteed onions and peppers and mix it all up then cover.

Set the machine for slow cook on high for 6 hours.

Step three:
EAT

My family and I had some leftover focaccia bread to go along with this. We all loved it, even the kids. I am a spicy guy, so I added Franks Red Hot to my bowl, MmmmM!

Leave a Reply

