Pride and Humble-pie!

lakeJust got back from camping over the weekend. It was a nice break from the constant grind of work and renovation.

My sons, nephew, sister-in-law, brother-in-law and myself took a long hike on Saturday. It was roughly 2 hours and covered just over 3 miles, closer to 4. I’m extremely proud of my nephew who wasn’t thrilled about the hike but did it anyway. I am proud of my 6 year old because he has such tiny legs yet kept up the whole time. I am uber proud of my sister-in-law for pushing through. As a diabetic heading out on that type of a challenge without support (we didn’t pack any snacks, ugh) could be dangerous. We got back to camp and she was about 10-15 minutes shy of getting into trouble with her blood sugar. A few pineapple slices and other fruit and she was back to normal.

Today, I was humbled. My wife and I set off to swim across the lake, then come back the same way. Well, nearly half way there my legs started tiring and I was using more of my arms in my stroke and fatigued. I panicked a bit, doubted myself, and turned back. It felt like failure, and still does. It stung, bad. That said, my wife killed it. She swam across the lake in 8:30 minutes!! She took a brief break and came back the same way in the same time. She killed it and I couldn’t be more proud.

For me? Back to the drawing board and to kick start this forsaken training….

As a Red Sox fan it pains me to quote this, but it is from here on out my driving force…” I love it when people doubt me. It makes me work harder to prove them wrong.” ~ Derek Jeter

 

Leave a Reply

