Thankful in 2013

The past year was rife with change. The word struggle is nothing new, challenges were faced on a near daily basis. That said, I have SO MUCH to be thankful for this year.

I am thankful for my wife. I am humbled that my wife Leah, chose me to share this life with. She brightens up my day with just a smile. No matter how far I fall, she is there to help me up. She is the yin to my yang, more literally than anyone can ever know!!

I am thankful for my three great children. Xena, Alex and Colin fill my heart with joy seeing the way each of them have grown and become their own person. Watching this happen on a daily basis is awe inspiring to say the least.

I am thankful for my family. This year we faced one of the hardest moments. My father passed this year after struggling with Cancer. While we knew it was coming, and had prepared the best we could, it was not easy. He did spend his last few days comfortably and surrounded by my mom, brothers, sister and I. I am thankful for everything he taught me. It may not have seemed like a lesson at the moment, but in the long run, everything he said and or did makes perfect sense now.

I am thankful for my job. I am lucky to work for such a great company. No matter how large it gets, they legitimately care about the little guy in the company. They never lose sight of the fact it started as a company founded on a family first ideal, and they live up to that. I am thankful they are like, as Leah calls it, our military in a way. We have been able to move a few times and still keep the same job. That is amazing!

I am thankful for my ocr team. The New England Spahtens could be included in the family tier I am so thankful for above, that’s what they mean to me and the other members. The team has grown exponentially over the past year and it’s amazing to see it happen so organically. Like a family, they are there for one another no matter who they are. I am blown away to call myself a Spahten!!

I am thankful for so much more, the sun, the moon, the earth and sky. If you look around there are so many things to be thankful for. The material things aside, life is friggin good people, never forget it!!

Leave a Reply

