What inspires you to run?

“Running is about finding your inner peace, and so is a life well lived.”
― Dean Karnazes

When you wake in the morning, and get out for that run, what inspires you?

After a long day at work, you get home and lace them up because you couldn’t make that morning run, what drives you?

Since I started running, I know that it is something that is extremely good for me. I know it keeps me active, keeps my joints moving, gives my legs some awesome exercise and helps me increase my breathing, on and on. The health benefits are insurmountable.

One thing I never thought running would do for me is make me WANT to run, not HAVE to run. At first it felt like a “have to”, it was part of my fitness plan. In order to achieve the goals I had, it was necessary for me to run at least 4-5 times a week. Which I did.

When I started, because I hadn’t run before, ever, I started with just a half mile. I worked up to a mile, then 2 miles, etc, etc… Now, after 2 years I can run 7 miles max and still feel good. My knee hurts a little, but I do it. Trying for my first 10 mile run this weekend though.

Anyway, the “have to” has turned into wanting to run.

I enjoy running now. I enjoy the sights. I like the fresh air. I like that cordial nod you get from other runners as you run by. I enjoy the solitude. Just the sound of my feet hitting the ground sets off a rhythm in my soul. Even though I have the pounding sounds from my iPod hitting my eardrum, there is a clarity in running, a purity. Behind the dissonance is a stillness, a definitive lucidity.

I look forward to my time on the road, the trails, or anywhere else my feet take me.

Leave a Reply

